A  D I S S I D E N T


 
Vlady is a man in revolt. "What is a man in revolt?" Albert Camus asked. "A man who says no." For Vlady, it's the opposite. Revolt is a heritage that waves and snaps in the wind like a banner.

Vlady's grandfather, Leon Kibalchich, was an officer in the Imperial Guard who went down in history as having participated in the plot to assassinate Czar Alexander II. He fled to Geneva, then to Brussels, where he had two sons, Victor and Raoul. The latter died of hunger at the age of eight and a half. Kibalchich went to Argentina and never returned to Russia.

 
Victor Lvovich Kibalchich, still a teenager, went to Paris. He joined the Bonnot gang, did prison time, met Lenin in Petrograd, and helped to create the Komintern. Deported by Stalin to Orenburg, confined to Kazakhstan and Siberia, he embarked on a career as a novelist, essayist, and poet under the name Victor Serge.

Thus, Vlady's revolutionary nature was acquired through the aristocratic tradition of blood inheritance. But which revolution matters little: that of the Russian anarchists or the French libertarians -- anything that contrasts with the dull weight of Stalinist totalitarianism. In the Spanish Civil War, he wanted to fight in the ranks of the POUM. However, the front was closed to Victor Serge's son. What was open to him was art.


1920
Born in Petrograd during the civil war. His father, Victor Serge, wrote, "I spent nights at the defence outposts, with the communists. My pregnant wife came to sleep in back, in an ambulance. Wrapped in a towel were a few clothes and our most precious objects, so that we could meet during the battle and beat a retreat together along the Neva" (Mémoire d'un révolutionnaire, Seuil, 1951, p. 103; translation).
1933
Under severe pressure from persecution, Vlady's mother, Liuba, goes mad. She is admitted to the Red Army's psychiatric clinic. Vlady accompanies his father to the Gulag. His teachers are old Bolsheviks who were Lenin's companions and deported by Stalin.
1936
Vlady and his parents leave Russia for Belgium, then France. A supporter of the anarcho-syndicalist cause during the Spanish Civil War, he is not able to reach the front because of communist hostilities. He decides to become a painter and spends time in the studios of Joseph Lacasse, Victor Brauner, Oscar Dominguez, Wifredo Lam, André Masson, and sculptor Aristide Maillol.
1941
When the Nazis overrun France, Victor Serge and Vlady must flee again. In Marseilles, they board a ship that takes them on to Martinique, the Dominican Republic, and Cuba. They are turned away from each port because they are communists. Only Mexico welcomes them. Vlady's mother remains in a psychiatric asylum in Aix-en-Provence, where she dies a few years later.
1947
Victor Serge dies. Vlady marries Isabel Díaz Fabela. Since his arrival in Mexico, he has been going from village to village, drawing scenes of daily life. He adapts himself to the landscape, the soil, and the light of the country that is to be his new homeland.



Isabel is "Vlady's homeland", to quote the phrase coined by critic Berta Teracena. She gave the Franco-Russian refugee a country and a language. She has become the primary inspiration for his art, giving a face and a body to the Eternal Feminine underlying his quest for the absolute.

1949

Becomes a Mexican citizen. Has solo exhibitions and takes part in many group exhibitions. His influences include Panait Istrati, Boris Pilniak, Maximilian Voloshin, André Breton, and, of course, Victor Serge.
1950
Takes a study trip to Holland, Belgium, Spain, Italy, Great Britain, Yugoslavia, and France. Produces a series of colour lithographs.
1951-61
Selected to exhibit his work in Paris biennales I and II, the Sao Paulo biennale, the Tokyo biennale IV, and the Cordoba, Argentina, biennale. Invited to contribute to Confrontación in Mexico City. Produces murals using different techniques, does set design, illustrates many books.
1964-65
Another study trip to Europe.
1966
The French embassy in Mexico City awards him the Special Art Bursary. He moves to Paris and works in lithography.
1967
Has a work in the exhibition "Homage to Boccacio," in Certaldo, Italy. Is awarded medal of honour.
1968
Receives a grant from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation and spends one year in New York. Has work in Hemisferia 68 and at the Osaka World Fair. Admitted to the Salon des Indépendants, but leaves it shortly before it dissolves in 1970.
1971
Mexico's Visual Arts awards him the prize of the annual print salon. The president of the Republic of Mexico, Luis Echeverría, asks him to paint a mural.
1973
The plan for the mural takes shape: it will be devoted to the great revolutions of the contemporary era. Vlady makes many plans and sketches for a series of murals inside the Department of Finance's Miguel Lerdo de Tejada Library.
1974
Begins painting murals in the chapel of the Miguel Lerdo de Tejada Library. Devoted to the Freudian revolution, the chapel will be named the Freudian Chapel. The National Institute of Fine Arts asks him to create a monumental work for the room devoted to contemporary painting: "Xerxes."
1982
Finishes murals for the Miguel Lerdo de Tejada Library: a total of 2,000 m2 of paintings. This revolutionary Sistine Chapel, in which an androgynous Christ is juxtaposed with Cromwell and the plumed snake, is unveiled by Mexican president Lopez Portillo.

Vlady's mural has attracted visitors from all over the world. Among those who have seized the opportunity to take this journey through the revolutionary universe as seen by Vlady are such personalities as Edgar Morin, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Jean-Pierre Chevênement, Michel Lequenne, Allen Ginsberg and Andrei Voznesensky.

 

In 1981 at the height of the Cold War, the American poet Allen Ginsberg and the Russian poet Andrei Voznesensky were united by a common admiration for Vlady's fresco. At the end of the visit, Voznesensky lamented: "When I think that back in the USSR I will never be able to write a word about what I saw here!"

1986
Vlady's major "methodological" exhibition at the Fine Arts Museum. His most important works are exhibited and a high level of critical scrutiny.
1987
The Sandinista government invites Vlady to paint murals for the National Palace of the Revolution in Managua, Nicaragua. He works with Canadian painter Arnold Belkin.
1989
Major retrospective exhibition at Jardín Borda in Cuernavaca, under the aegis of the State of Morelos Institute of Culture.
1994
Produces four monumental paintings for the Ministry of the Interior ("Violencias fraternas," "El general," "El uno no camina sin el otro," "Caida y descendimiento"). Soon after, the paintings are sequestered in the old Lecumberri prison, because the government authorities interprets them as a tribute to the Zapatista rebellion.
1995
Meets with the bishop of Chiapas, Samuel Ruiz, nicknamed Tatic by the Natives. Begins work devoted to Tatic.
1998
The French Government awards his the highet art decoration (Commandeur de l'Ordre des Arts et des lettres).
2003
An exhibition of paintings in the José Luís Cuevas Museum, Mexico City. An exhibition of engravings in the Orenburg Museum (Russia).
2004
Donation in May of most of his work (4 600 paintings, drawings and engravings) to the people of Mexico through the Fine Arts National Institute (Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes - INBA).
2005
An exhibition in the Moscow Fine Arts Museum.
The INBA awards him the Fine Arts Palace Commemoration medal.
Two weeks later, on July 21, he died from a brain cancer in his Cuernavaca home.

L E  D I S S I D E N T


 
Vlady est un homme révolté. «Qu'est-ce qu'un homme révolté? demandait Albert Camus. Un homme qui dit non.» Chez Vlady, c'est le contraire. La révolte est un héritage qui claque au vent comme un étendard.

Le grand père Léon Kibalchich est un officier de la garde impériale entré dans l'histoire pour avoir participé à l'assassinat du tzar Alexandre II. Il s'enfuit à Genève, puis à Bruxelles où il a deux fils: Victor et Raoul. Ce dernier mourra de faim à huit ans et demi. Léon Kibalchich finira ses jours en Argentine et ne reverra jamais la Russie.

 
Victor Lvovitch Kibalchich à peine adolescent gagne Paris où il entre dans la bande à Bonnot, fait de la prison, rejoint Lénine à Petrograd et participe à la création du Komintern. Déporté par Staline à Orenbourg, aux confins du Kazakhstan et de la Sibérie, il entame une oeuvre de romancier, d'essayiste et de poète sous le nom de Victor Serge.

Vlady est révolutionnaire par tradition aristocratique du sang reçu. Mais pas n'importe quelle révolution: celle des anarchistes russes et des libertaires français. Tout à l'opposé des pesanteurs du totalitarisme stalinien. Pendant la Guerre civile d'Espagne, il milite dans les rangs du POUM. Pourtant, le front est fermé au fils de Victor Serge. Il lui reste l'art.


1920
Naissance à Petrograd pendant la guerre civile. Son père Victor Serge écrit: «Je passais les nuits aux avant-postes de la défense, avec les communistes. Ma femme, enceinte, venait dormir à l'arrière, dans une ambulance, avec une serviette contenant un peu de linge et nos objets les plus chers, afin que nous puissions nous rejoindre pendant la bataille et battre en retraite ensemble, le long de la Néva.» (Mémoire d'un révolutionnaire, éd. du Seuil 1951, p. 103).
1933
Sous le poids des persécutions, sa mère Liouba perd la raison. Elle est internée dans la clinique psychiatrique de l'Armée rouge. Vlady accompagne son père au Goulag. Pour tout professeur, il a les anciens bolcheviks compagnons de Lénine déportés par Staline.
1936
Sort de Russie avec ses parents. Gagne la Belgique, puis la France. Militant en faveur de la cause anarcho-syndicaliste durant la Guerre civile espagnole, il ne peut gagner le front espagnol en raison de l'hostilité des communistes. Il décide de devenir peintre. Il fréquente les ateliers de Joseph Lacasse, Victor Brauner, Oscar Dominguez, Wifredo Lam, André Masson et du sculpteur Aristide Maillol.
1941
L'arrivée des nazis en France oblige Victor Serge et Vlady à s'enfuir à nouveau. Ils prennent le bateau à Marseille pour un périple qui les amènera à La Martinique, la République Dominicaine, Cuba, refoulés chaque fois pour cause de communisme. Seul le Mexique ouvre ses portes aux deux réfugiés. Sa mère est restée dans un asile psychiatrique à Aix-en-Provence où elle mourra des années plus tard.
1947
Mort de Victor Serge. Il se marie avec Isabel Díaz Fabela. Depuis son arrivée au Mexique, Vlady parcourt le Mexique village par village dessinant des scènes de la vie quotidienne. Il s'approprie le paysage et la terre et la lumière du pays qui devient peu à peu sa nouvelle patrie.

Isabel est «la terre de Vlady» pour reprendre la formule de la critique Berta Teracena. Elle va donner une patrie et une langue au réfugié franco-russe, elle deviendra l'inspiratrice privilégiée de son art, elle donnera un visage et un corps à l'éternel féminin qui hante sa quête d'absolu.

1949
Naturalisation mexicaine. Expose ses oeuvres et participe à de nombreuses expositions collectives. Subit les influences de Panait Istrati, Boris Pilniak, Maximilien Voloshin, André Breton et, bien sûr, Victor Serge.
1950
Accomplit un voyage d'étude aux Pays-Bas, en Belgique, Espagne, Italie, Grande-Bretagne, Yougoslavie et en France. Il réalise une série de lithographies en couleurs.
1951-61
Sélectionné pour participer à la biennale de Paris (I et II), la biennale de Sao Paulo, la quatrième biennale de Tokyo et la biennale de Cordoba (Argentine). Il est invité à participer à Confrontación 66 à Mexico. Il réalise des murales au moyen de différentes techniques, de la scénographie et illustre de nombreuses publications.
1964-65
Nouveau voyage d'étude en Europe.
1966
L'ambassade de France à Mexico lui accorde la Bourse spéciale de l'art. Il s'établit à Paris et travaille la lithographie.
1967
Participe à l'exposition «Hommage à Boccace» qui a lieu à Certaldo en Italie. Il obtient la médaille d'honneur.
1968
Il reçoit la bourse de la «John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation» et passe une année à New York. Participe à Hemisferia 68 et à la Foire mondiale d'Osaka. Admis au Salon des Indépendants, il l'abandonne peu avant sa disparition en 1970.
1971
Les Arts plastiques mexicains lui décernent le Prix du Salon annuel de la gravure. Le président de la République du Mexique Luis Echeverría lui demande de réaliser une murale.
1973
Le projet de murale prend forme: elle sera consacrée aux grandes révolutions de l'époque contemporaine. Il fait de multiples projets et croquis pour une série de murales à l'intérieur de la bibliothèque «Miguel Lerdo de Tejada» du ministère des Finances.
1974
Commence les peintures murales de la chapelle de la bibliothèque «Miguel Lerdo de Tejada». Consacrée à la révolution freudienne, cette chapelle sera baptisée «chapelle freudienne». L'Institut national des Beaux-Arts le charge de réaliser une oeuvre monumentale pour la salle consacrée à la peinture contemporaine: «Xerxès».
1982
Fin des murales de la bibliothèque «Miguel Lerdo de Tejada»: au total 2 000 m2 de peinture. Cette chapelle Sixtine révolutionnaire où un Christ androgyne voisine avec Cromwell et le serpent à plumes est inaugurée par le président du Mexique Lopez Portillo.

La murale de Vlady retient l'attention de nombreux visiteurs venus du monde entier. Edgar Morin, Lawrence Ferlighetti, Jean-Pierre Chevênement, Michel Lequenne, Allen Ginsberg et Andrei Voznesensky figurent au nombre de ceux qui ont eu la chance d'effectuer le voyage à travers les révolutions selon Vlady.

 

Alors que la guerre froide bat son plein, en 1981, le poète américain Allen Ginsberg et le poète russe Andrei Voznesensky sont unis par l'admiration de la fresque. Au terme de la visite, Voznesensky s'écrie: "Dire que de retour en URSS je ne pourrai jamais écrire une ligne sur ce que j'ai vu ici!."

1986
Grande exposition méthodologique Vlady au Palais des beaux Arts. Ses principales oeuvres sont exposées avec un appareillage critique de haut niveau.
1987
Le gouvernement sandiniste l'invite à créer les murales du Palais national de la révolution à Managua, au Nicaragua. Il travaille avec le peintre canadien Arnold Belkin.
1989
Grande exposition des différentes époques de Vlady au Jardín Borda de Cuernavaca sous l'égide de l'Institut de la culture de l'État de Morelos.
1994
Réalise quatre tableaux monumentaux pour le ministère de l'Intérieur («Violencias fraternas», «El general», «El uno no camina sin el otro», «Caida y descendimiento»). Sitôt inaugurés, les quatre tableaux disparaissent et sont séquestrés dans l'ancienne prison de Lecumberri par les autorités gouvernementales qui y voient un éloge de la rébellion zapatiste.
1995
Rencontre avec l'évêque du Chiapas Samuel Ruiz, surnommé Tatic par les Indiens.
Début de l'oeuvre en cours consacrée à Tatic.
1998
Le gouvernement français lui décerne le titre de Commandeur de l'Ordre des Arts et des lettres.
2003
Exposition de peintures au Musée José Luís Cuevas de Mexico. Exposition de gravures au Musée d'Orenbourg.
2004
Don de la majeure partie de l'œuvre (4 600 tableaux, dessins et gravures) au peuple mexicain, par le truchement de l'Institut national des Beaux Arts (INBA).
2005
Exposition au Musée des Beaux Arts, Moscou.
L'INBA lui décerne la Médaille commémorative du Palais des Beaux Arts.
Deux semaines plus tard, le 21 juillet, il meurt dans sa maison-atelier de Cuernavaca d'un cancer foudroyant au cerveau.